Tucson International Airport is an essential economic driver of Southern Arizona. It is important for Southern Arizonans to understand the significance of utilizing TIA whenever possible for their air travel needs. New flights and routes will not be added if there is not a shown demand, and choosing to fly from other airports does not benefit Tucson’s business growth and economic development.

We want others to know that Tucson is open for business, Tucson continues to grow, and that all of Southern Arizona is a vibrant destination with direct access to a number of cities.

This is why the Tucson Metro Chamber, in partnership with the Tucson Airport Authority, has created the “Fly Tucson First” campaign. This effort is to increase awareness of the detrimental effect people have when they choose to fly out of other airports.

What can you do to help? Sign the pledge. By signing the pledge to fly out of Tucson you are making a commitment to invest in the future of air travel at Tucson International Airport. Click below to #FlyTucsonFirst and to show your support for our community and local economy.

About The Pledge


Tucson International Airport (TUS) is an essential economic driver of Southern Arizona, as it serves a region of well over one million people. Currently, six airlines fly non-stop from Tucson to 18 destinations, with nearly 120 flights either arriving or taking off every day.

A 2012 study by the University of Arizona’s Eller College of Management found that Tucson International Airport has an annual economic impact of $3.2 billion and supports 35,000 local area jobs. This impact benefits the entire Tucson and Southern Arizona business community. Our Southern Arizona community needs to continue to support such successes.

There is a symbiotic relationship between TUS and the regional economy, in that they share in and support each other’s prosperity. As Southern Arizona’s economy grows, so does the number of airport passengers and businesses that TUS serves. Likewise, as TUS grows, it continues to better meet the needs and demands of more Southern Arizona passengers and businesses, as well as supports local business growth.

When Southern Arizonans choose not to fly out of TUS, the money that is spent on such travel is not spent here. When we don’t use our own airport, there is less reason for new airlines to pursue Tucson as a destination, and there are fewer reasons for airlines that already serve Tucson to expand their Tucson routes to new destinations. Finally, when Southern Arizonans choose to fly to and from elsewhere, those jobs are created elsewhere.

The Tucson Metro Chamber believes that it’s high time for all regional businesses to rally around a “Fly Tucson First” pledge. If all of us do so, we believe that Tucson’s existing airlines will respond by adding new flights to existing routes and/or expanding routes to new destinations. In addition, airlines that currently don’t serve Tucson would begin to look at TUS as a destination with the opportunity for successful growth.

TUS is ready to meet the higher demand that a successful “Fly Tucson First” pledge could create, as it already has the capacity and facilities to expand existing services, as well as to recruit new flights.

Thus, the “Fly Tucson First” pledge puts the words of regional employers, community leaders and local government officials into action, as it implements travel policies that will promote the use of air service via TUS.
Business Supporters

Airtronics Aztera LLC Bremond Company LLC CRD Investment Advisors Dismas Charities Dollar Rent a Care Econogine, LLC Edmund Marquez Allstate Agencies FCFTucson Fox Tucson Theatre Foundation Goldsmith Real Estate Horizon Moving Group Kaneen Communications Katina Koller, LLC Lechner Construction MAS Real Estate Services, Inc. Medicare Health Benefits Minkus Advertising Specialties Monterey Water Co. Pacific Northwest Consulting LLC PB Trading Co, Inc. Pedego Electric Bikes Tucson Pisik Consulting Group Private Multi-family R/E Business Randstad Remedy Staffing Seaver Franks Architects Sheraton Tucson Hotel & Suites UAVC W.G. Valenzuela Drywall & Paint Inc. Western Tire Centers
Individual Supporters
Agnes C. Poore

Akriti Bustamante

Alejandro Angel

Alex Hardie

Alex Rodriguez

Amber Mazzei

Andrea Barre

Andy Seleznov

Anna Rothhaar

Autumn Van Den Berg

Barbi Reuter

Barbra Heintz

Belinda Moreno

Ben Korn

Bert Williams

Bonnie Allin

Bonnie O'Connor

Brad Smith

Brenda Goldsmith

Brian Ham

Bruce Dusenberry

Carol Gatewood

Cat Belue

Celeste Saltzman

Chadai Vasquez

Charles Dunn

Chris Edwards

Chris Lechner

Chris Schmaltz

Christopher Ercoli

Christy Hull

Clyde Benzenhoefer

Cody Rutschman

Craig Sumberg

Cynthia Bates

Cynthia Flowers

Cynthia Hernandez

Dan Beckwith

Dan Carraher

Danette Bewley

Daniel Matlick

Danielle Halik

Dave Mason

David Cohen

Dick Gruentzel

Douglas Prall

Duff Hearon

Dustin Williams

Edgar Martinez

Edmund Marquez

Ellen Golden

Fletcher McCusker

Gabriela Cervantes

Gerald Flores

Gloria Martinez

Grace Gegenheimer

Graeme Hughes

Grant Anderson

Greg Taylor

Howard Stewart

Humberto Stevens

Ivonne Haskins

Jack Furrier

Jackie Rodriguez

Jacqueline Stilwell

James Kehl

James Lorentzen

James Millerd

Jane McCollum

Jason Cook

Jason Robinson

Jayme Arezzo

Jean Gage

Jeffrey Jacobson

Jill Rodriguez

Jim Bilwacks

Jim Click

Jim McCorry

JJ Johnston

John Belton

John Bremond

John C. Smith

John Meyer

John Orcutt

Jonathan Mabry

Julie Hansen

Karin Phillips

Kasey Hill

Katherine Martinez

Kathy Moon

Katina Koller

KaylaAnn Lester

Ken Kwilosz

Ken Tucker

Kenneth Doherty

Kevin Burnett

Kris Johnson

Larry Cesare

Larry Lang

Laura Nagore

Lee Klein

Linda Kennedy

Linda Montes-Cota

Linda Morales

Jayne Henninger

Manny Teran

Manuel Ramos

Mario Rueda

Mark Wiener

Martha Furnas

Martha Hoffman

Mary Peachin

Max Fisher

Melissa Hicks

Melissa Makin

Michael A. Stilb

Michael Duran

Michael Franks

Michael Osborne

Mike Levin

Mike Varney

Mitch Pisik

Nanette Pageau

Nikki Carraher

Paola Tomassini

Patrick Zumbusch

Paul DeHerrera

Peter Backus

Peter Backus

Peter Gallo

Phil Gutt

Phil Swaim

Ramon Valencia

Reuben Minkus

Rhonda Bodfield

Richard Rose

Richard Underwood

Robert Lamb

Robert Medler

Robert N Jensen

Rosa Herrera

Rosey Koberlein

Rossy Bojorquez

Roy Valenzuela

Ryan McGregor

Sandy Mellor

Sarah Showard

Scott Lewis

Sheila Rodriguez

Steve Lemmons

Steve Walker

Susan Manfredi

Susan Shelulski

Suzanne Kaiser

Taunya Villicana

Tim Medcoff

Tim O'Moore

Todd Hill

Todd Jackson

Tom Christie

Tom Dunn

Tom Lewis

Tom Sloyan

Tony Cazzato

Tony Penn

Toree Calloway

Walter Ohlson

Wendell Long

Will Olstad

William Assenmacher

William B. Carroll

William Rubasch

Xavier Calvillo

Yalitza Ochoa

Zach Mooney